What is 4th degree arson?

Criminal Defense Lawyer John L. Calcagni, III

Schedule a Consultation

Rhode Island General Laws § 11-2-5 Arson- Fourth Degree- Any person who knowingly causes, procures, aids, counsels or creates by means of fire or explosion damage to or destruction of any personal property valued in excess of one hundred dollars ($100) and the property of another person shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to imprisonment for not less than one year nor more than three (3) years, or shall be fined not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both.

In Massachusetts, the equivalent is Chapter 266. Section 5: Wood and other property; burning or aiding in burning- Whoever willfully and maliciously sets fire to, or burns or otherwise destroys or injures by burning, or causes to be burned or otherwise so destroyed or injured, or whoever aids, counsels or procures the burning of, a pile or parcel of wood, boards, timber or other lumber, or any fence, bars or gate, or a stack of grain, hay or other vegetable product, or any vegetable product severed from the soil and not stacked, or any standing tree, grain, grass or other standing product of the soil, or the soil itself, or any personal property of whatsoever class or character exceeding a value of twenty-five dollars, of another, or any boat, motor vehicle as defined in section one of chapter ninety, or other conveyance, whether of himself or another, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than three years, or by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars and imprisonment in a jail or house of correction for not more than one year.