Rhode Island Indecent Exposure Lawyer

What is Indecent Exposure?

A person commits indecent exposure when they knowingly expose their genitals to another individual for their own arousal or gratification. Also, the act must be likely to cause distress or alarm.

Penalty for Indecent Exposure

The penalty for indecent exposure is a maximum prison sentence of one year and a fine of $1,000. A second offense could result in a three-year prison term. Every person with an indecent exposure conviction has to participate in counseling.

Indecent Exposure Offense in Rhode Island

In Rhode Island, it is illegal to expose oneself to another for purpose of sexual gratification. A person commits indecent exposure/disorderly conduct when for the purpose of sexual arousal, gratification or stimulation, such person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly Exposes his or her genitals to the view of another under circumstances in which his or her conduct is likely to cause affront, distress, or alarm to that person.

First offense

The first offense is a misdemeanor and has a penalty of imprisonment for up to one (1) year, or a fine up to one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both.

Subsequent offenses

Any subsequent offense would be a felony and can be punished by imprisonment for a term of up to three (3) years.

When a person is convicted of indecent exposure they may face sexual offender registration consequences.

Rhode Island Indecent Exposure Laws

  • Rhode Island General Laws § 11-45-2. Indecent exposure – Disorderly conduct- (c) Any person found guilty of, or who pleads nolo contendere to the crime of indecent exposure/disorderly conduct, shall be imprisoned for a term of not more than one year, or fined not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or both. Any subsequent offense shall be punished by imprisonment for a term of up to three (3) years.

Massachusetts Indecent Exposure Laws

In Massachusetts, there are two types of indecent exposure that a person can be charged with. The first is for “Open and Gross Lewdness,” which consists generally of intentional exposure of the genitalia or intimate parts to another or the public with the intention of shocking and upsetting the other.

Examples could be public sexual acts such as masturbation and receives a penalty of up to three (3) years imprisonment and/or a fine of up to three hundred dollars ($300). The second type, “Indecent Exposure,” consist of intentional exposure of the genitals or female intimate parts, such as the breasts and is considered a misdemeanor. Examples could be public urination, or other types of nudity in public and receives a penalty of up to six (6) months imprisonment and/or up to a two hundred dollars ($200) fine.

  • Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 272. Section 16: Open and gross lewdness and lascivious behavior- A man or woman, married or unmarried, who is guilty of open and gross lewdness and lascivious behavior, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than three years or in jail for not more than two years or by a fine of not more than three hundred dollars
  • Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 272. Section 53: Penalty for certain offenses- (a) … persons guilty of indecent exposure shall be punished by imprisonment in a jail or house of correction for not more than 6 months, or by a fine of not more than $200, or by both such fine and imprisonment. (b) Disorderly persons and disturbers of the peace, for the first offense, shall be punished by a fine of not more than $150. On a second or subsequent offense, such person shall be punished by imprisonment in a jail or house of correction for not more than 6 months, or by a fine of not more than $200, or by both such fine and imprisonment.